Trustee Elections Coming Up

On September 25, 2007 the John Jermain Memorial Library will hold its annual election for the Board of Trustees and budget vote. This year there are four seats up for election. Normally, three of the Trustees from the nine-person board are elected each year. This year a fourth seat is available due to the early resignation of Trustee Deborah Wilson. Since this will be a shorter term (ending December 31, 2009), the right to complete it will go to the candidate who receives the fourth-highest vote total in the election. However, the person filling this seat will begin serving on the Board immediately after the election, and not have to wait until January as is customary, since he or she will be completing an unexpired term.

The other three elected Trustees will serve full three-year terms ending on December 31, 2010; but in another unusual aspect of this year’s election two of the three remaining available positions also replace Trustees who have resigned in the past year (Gregory Ferraris and James Marquardt). These two seats have terms that would have ended on December 31, 2007 anyway, so the newly elected candidates filling these seats will serve full three-year terms. However, the winners of these two seats will also get to fill out the remainder of the unexpired terms of the two trustees who resigned, which means that they too will take their seats on the Board immediately after the election. The top two vote-getters in the election will be assigned these seats. So, in a somewhat bizarre twist, only the candidate who receives the third largest number of votes will have to wait for the January 2008 meeting of the Board of Trustees to be sworn in.

Currently the Board has eight trustees and one vacancy, as Nancy Hallock was appointed to replace Deborah Wilson, and Carl Peterson was appointed to replace Gregory Ferraris. Both appointments end with this coming election. James Marquardt’s seat is currently vacant. Trustee Donna Milazzo is also up for re-election this year should she decide to run. None of the incumbents have announced their intentions at this time.

If you are interested in running for the Board, you must meet the following requirements:

  1. Be a U.S. Citizen
  2. Be at least eighteen (18) years old
  3. Be a John Jermain Memorial Library cardholder
  4. Be a registered voter residing in the Sag Harbor Union Free School District
  5. May not be an employee of the John Jermain Memorial Library or a member of an employee’s family. For purposes of eligibility for election, “family” refers to an employee’s spouse, significant other, child(ren), parents, siblings, stepchild(ren), grandchild(ren) or in-laws. Family members of current Trustees are also ineligible.

In addition, you must submit a petition with 29 signatures of registered voters to the District Clerk of the Sag Harbor School District by 4:00 p.m. on Monday, August 22, 2007. Petition forms and instructions may be picked up at the District Clerk’s office at 200 Jermain Ave., Sag Harbor, or here at the Library.

If you have questions about running for the Board of Trustees, please contact Acting Director Eric Cohen at 725-0049, extension 37.

Good luck to all candidates!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *