The Board of Trustees of the John Jermain Memorial Library will hold is Regular Monthly Meeting on July 17th at 6:00 pm in the Gloria Primm Brown Friends of the Library Community Room. Click here for more information or to view the meeting virtually.

Budget Passes, New Trustees Elected

The John Jermain Memorial Library’s 2008 operating budget of $933, 350.00 was overwhelmingly approved by School District voters in yesterday’s vote, 186 to 62. Thank you Sag Harbor!

There were four seats on Board of Trustees up for election this year: the three that would normally be up for election, and a fourth due to the resignation of Trustee Deborah Wilson, earlier this year. Three candidates ran for these four seats, so all were elected. The results were Nancy Hallock, 176 votes, Carol Williams, 168 votes and Carl Peterson, 159 votes. In addition there were several write-in candidates, and with the highest write-in total of 59 votes, Kate Evarts was elected to fill the remainder of Deborah Wilson’s unexpired term. She will take her seat immediately upon being sworn in, and will serve until December 31, 2009.

Of the other three elected candidates, the two top-vote getters, Nancy Hallock and Carol Williams will start immediately upon being sworn in so they can complete the terms of two other Trustees who resigned this year, Greg Ferraris and Jim Marquardt. The uncompleted terms will end on December 31, 2007.  Then on January 1, 2008, Hallock and Williams will  begin serving their own three-year terms.

Carl Peterson, who was the third highest vote getter will replace Trustee Donna Milazzo — who chose not to run for re-election — on January 1, 2008 when her term expires. He too will serve a three-year term, ending on December 31, 2010.

Congratulations to all the newly elected Trustees.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *