The Building is Closed; the Library is open.

We have begun to un-PAUSE!  “Plaza-Pickup” of library material begins on Tuesday, June 16. In the meantime, our online resources, e-books, remote programs, and reference services are still available. Need a library card?  Apply online!

It's Germane

Budget Vote and Trustee Elections to be held on September 19th

The 2007 operating budget of the John Jermain Memorial Library will be put to a vote of the residents of the Sag Harbor School District on September 19, 2006. Voters will also select three members of the JJML Board of Trustees from among the seven candidates running. The vote will take place on the lower level of the Library from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Only registered voters who are residents of the Sag Harbor School District are eligible to vote.

If you are otherwise eligible to vote, but not yet registered, you may register at the office of the District Clerk at Pierson High School, 200 Jermain Ave., Sag Harbor, on September 12, 2006 only. Absentee ballots may be picked up at the Library or at the office of the District Clerk. All postal patrons in Sag Harbor will receive a budget newsletter from the Library prior to the election.

The annual Budget Meeting and Candidate Forum will take place on September 11, 2006 in the Pierson High School auditorium. The Budget Meeting will begin at 6:30 p.m. Library Director Allison Gray and President of the Board of Trustees Greg Ferraris will be present to answer questions from the public.

The Candidate Forum will follow immediately after the Budget Meeting at 7:00 p.m. The moderator will be Bryan Boyhan, Editor of the Sag Harbor Express. The public will be invited to submit questions to the candidates. This is the second year of a three year transition to a fully elected board of trustees. Each year, three of the nine trustees run for election. Prior to last year’s election all trustees were appointed.

The candidates in this year’s trustee election are (in alphabetical order):

Nancy Achenbach
Kate Evarts
Diane Gaites (incumbent)
Chris Leonard
Suzanne McNear
Jim Posner
Deborah Wilson (incumbent)

The third incumbent and current Board Vice President, Gayle Ratcliffe is not running for reelection.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *